1. Background 
Dr. Roman L. Kintanar, former Director of Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) for a period of 36 years and President of WMO for two terms (1979-1987), has dedicated his life to the improvement of the quality of life in the Asian countries through his contribution to science.

He was awarded with the World Meteorological Organization’s International Meteorological Organization Prize in 1995 for his outstanding contribution to the promotion of international cooperation in meteorology and related fields. He was also coordinator of the ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee (1980-2006) and author of works focusing various aspects, namely climate change and disaster preparedness.

The Typhoon Committee, acknowledging that Dr. Roman L. Kintanar has been during the last decades a reference for those who struggle against the consequences of the typhoon-related disasters, decided to create the “Dr. Roman L. Kintanar Award for Typhoon-Related Disaster Mitigation”. This decision was taken at its 39th Annual Session, held in Manila, Philippines, in December 2006, not only to homage Dr. Kintanar but also to motivate institutions of the Typhoon Committee Members to dedicate more efforts to achieving the Typhoon Committee mission and vision.

2. The award 
The award consists of a plaque in which statements are written mentioning the relevant contribution of the awarded winner(s) for the achievement of the TC mission and vision.

3. Eligibility 
Institutions of the TC Members that have significantly contributed for the achievement of the mission and vision of the Typhoon Committee are eligible to be nominated.

4. Nominations 
Any Member of the Typhoon Committee in coordination with its Working Groups representatives of each component (meteorology, hydrology and disaster prevention and preparedness) is eligible to nominate not more than 1 nominee. Proposals must be substantiated by a statement explaining the reasons for the application and necessary supporting documents. The Typhoon Committee Secretariat will compile all the nominations and supporting documents

5. Deadline 
for the presentation of nominations Applications must be submitted to the Typhoon Committee Secretariat at least two months before the corresponding Typhoon Committee Annual Session.

6. Selection 
Kintanar Award Selection Working Group (KASWG). At least three months before the corresponding Typhoon Committee Annual Session, the TCS will request each Typhoon Committee Member to appoint one representative to the Kintanar Award Selection Working Group (KASWG). No later than two months before the corresponding Typhoon Committee Annual Session, each Member will submit the name, position, and email address of their representative for the KASWG to the TCS. If a Member doesn’t submit the information for their representative by the required deadline, it will be assumed that this Member doesn’t chose to name a representative for the KASWG for that year.

After receipt of all of the nominee(s) by the required deadline, the Typhoon Committee Secretariat will submit the name(s) of the nominee(s) to the KASWG. Each member of the KASWG will thoroughly review each nomination, and by no later than one month before the corresponding Typhoon Committee Annual Session, will forward their one recommendation for the award. Base upon the recommendations received by no later than one month before the corresponding Typhoon Committee Annual Session, the TCS will count the recommendations, and the nominee with the most recommendations will be named the selectee for the award. There will be only one selectee for the award unless there is a tie, and in that case both agencies will be announced as selectees.

7. Award delivery 
The award will be delivered to a representative of the awarded institution in the Award Delivery Ceremony which will take place at the Opening Ceremony of the TC Annual Session. The travel expenses of the representative of the awarded institution will be borne by the respective institution.

8. Entry in force 
The current rules enter in force after approval by the Typhoon Committee at its 43RD annual session.