Welcome to TC

The ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee has already a long history of about forty years and has been an example followed by countries of other regions affected by tropical cyclones. It is an intergovernmental body established in 1968 under the auspices of the United Nations Economic Commission for Asia and the Far East (UNECAFE) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) in order to promote and coordinate the planning and implementation of measures required for minimizing the loss of life and material damage caused by typhoons in ECAFE region. Later, in 1974, this Commission was re-designated as ESCAP – Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific.

The Typhoon Committee is currently composed of 14 Members: Cambodia; China; Democratic People’s Republic of Korea; Hong Kong, China; Japan; Lao People’s Democratic Republic; Macao, China; Malaysia; the Philippines; Republic of Korea; Singapore; Thailand; Socialist Republic of Viet Nam and the United States of America. WELCOME TO OUR WEBSITE!